Sunday, February 10, 2013

Kildare 2-11


Meath 0-13

Goals from Paul Divilly and Tony Murphy secured a first ever Kehoe Cup crown for the Kildare hurlers on Sunday.

The Lilies had five points to spare at the end of what had been a closely fought contest for the majority of the game. Willie Sunderland’s side claimed a modicum of revenge for their championship defeat to the Royals in last year’s Christy Ring Cup.

The opening goal arrived in the 43rd minute when team captain Paul Divilly’s 45-metre free dropped into the Meath net to leave it 1-6 to 0-8.

Within a minute the sides were level for the sixth and final time as substitute Peter Durnin pointed but Kildare made a decisive break when Tony Murphy connected with a Gerry Keegan delivery to steer the sliotar to the net.

Try as they did Meath with Stephen Clynch leading the charge from centre-half-half couldn’t bridge the gap in their bid to win the competition for a seventh time and first since 2011.

The vigilance of the Kildare rearguard and goalkeeper Paddy McKenna stymied Meath attempts to register a goal.

KILDARE: Paddy McKenna; Paul Keegan, Fiachra Ó Muineacháin, Patrick Curtin; Kieran Divilly (0-1), Richie Hoban, Niall Ó Muineacháin; Danny Butler, Eanna O’Neill (0-1); Mark Moloney (0-2), Paul Divilly (capt) (1-4, 1-3 fs), Peader Downey (0-1); Tony Murphy (1-1), David Kennedy, Gerry Keegan. Subs – R. Kelly (0-1) for O’Neill (48), Bernard Day for Kennedy (55)

Sports Editor
Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Eric Donovan Is Champion Of Europe

Kildare LGFA Championship Final Results

Similar Articles

All Star Football Nomination For Ben McCormack