Sunday, March 19, 2017


A Ryan Bannon goal in the 57th minute was enough to give Monasterevan victory in a hotly contested Keogh Cup Final at St Conleths Park.

Monasterevan won the 2017 Keogh Cup

It was what the Brian Lonergan managed side deserved for a determined second half showing but Raheens will feel it was a game that got away from them.

They led from the moment John Jennings fisted to the net with barely two minutes on the clock and were 1-4 to 0-5 ahead at half time.

Former Clare intercounty star Rory Donnelly increased that lead early in the second half but with Wayne Fitzpatrick and Padraigh Nash showing well, Monasterevan kicked four points in a row to go ahead for the first time in the 37th minute.

Raheens then scored two in a row, Monasterevan came back with two of their own before the crucial moment.

Donnelly really should have converted a 20 minute free without much fuss to tie the scores but struck the inside of the post. From there, Monasterevan pushed forward and Mark Kelly set up Bannon for the goal.

Monasterevan captain Paul Kelly receives the Keogh Cup

Even though the impressive Paddy Woodgate scored the last two points for Raheens there was no way back and Monasterevan claimed the first piece of club silverware of the season.

Monasterevan: Adam Forde; Daryl Dunne, Gavin Worrell, Tristan Kennedy, Paul Kelly, John O’Toole, Ryan Bannon 1-1; Paul Maloney, Wayne Sharpe; Mark Kelly, Reece Heavey, Cormac Stapleton 0-2, Wayne Fitzpatrick 0-5 (4fs), Christy Dempsey, Padraig Nash 0-3 (2fs). SUBS: Colin McCabe for Forde, h/t; Kevin Dunne for Kennedy, h/t; Lenny Havens for Dempsey, h/t; Shane Kevins for Sharpe, 57.

Raheens: Declan Campbell; Shane Crowley, James O’Brien, Cian Conlon, Collie Malone, Graham Waters, Jason Earley; Rory Hannick, David Fitzpatrick 0-1f; Dave Malone, Alan Igoe, Liam Power, Rory Donnelly 0-3 (2fs), John Jennings 1-1, Paddy Woodgate 0-4 (3fs, 1’45). SUBS: John Lawler for Conlon, 36; Thomas Dore for Power, 46; Mark Waters for Igoe, 48; Alan Campbell for Waters, 53; Colm Power for C Malone, 58;

Referee: Henry Barrett

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles

Flynn to miss league campaign