Sunday, July 28, 2019


NAAS won their first SFL Division 1 title since 1995 after a thrilling final in St Conleths Park.

EMS Copiers Division 1 winners – Naas

It took extra time before the two sides could be separated after Carbury struck late in normal to force a draw. Youngster Darragh Kirwan led the way for county town and his contribution of seven points was crucial in the win.

A 24th minute penalty by Eoghan O’Flaherty helped Carbury into a 1-7 to 0-6 half time lead. They were were still four points up eight minutes into the second half but a scrappy Luke Griffin goal changed the complexion of the match.

That gave Naas new life but Carbury regained control and after points from O’Flaherty and Justin Reilly they led by four with 16 minutes to play.

Naas had to dig deep but in response they scored six points in a row to lead by two in the closing stages. O’Flaherty and Colm Joyce swapped scores and there was still two points in it in injury time but two late strikes by the brilliant O’Flaherty left the final score at 1-15 apiece.

It was Naas who carried the greater cutting edge in extra time after Kirwan’s seventh point of the game, Dean McHolmes scored two important points in the first half.

Carbury pushed hard in the second half of extra time but points from the evergreen Eamonn Callaghan and Colm Joyce pulled them clear.

Last time Naas won this competition, their manager Niall Cronin was mascot, today he watched on beaming with pride as Callaghan lifted the trophy on the St Conleths Park steps.

Naas captain Eamonn Callaghan lifts the trophy

SCORERS: D Kirwan 0-7, E Callaghan 0-6 (3fs), L Griffin 1-2, C Joyce 0-2, D McHolmes 0-2, B Kane 0-1, B Reynolds 0-1f

Carbury: E O’Flaherty 1-10 (6fs), J Dunne 0-3, J Kelly 0-2, J Reilly 0-1, M O’Flaherty 0-1

NAAS: Barry Reynolds; Conor McCarthy, Eoghan Bateman, Fiachra Pigott, Ailin McDermott, Johnny Heavey, Brian Byrne; Eoin Doyle, David Gahan; Ronan Joyce, Eamonn Callaghan, Colm Joyce, Sean Cullen, Luke Griffin, Darragh Kirwan. Subs: Cathal Daly for Heavey, h/t; Dallan Gallagher for McDermott, h/t; Shane Bergain for Pigott , 41; Brian Kane for Cullen, 46; Dean McHolmes for R Joyce, 52; McDermott for Kirwan, 75; Paul Sullivan for Bateman, 78

CARBURY: Wayne Cummins; Dean Cummins, Brian O’Flaherty, Stephen McKeon, Justin Reilly, Andy Dermody, Willie Groome; Aaron O’Neill, Tom Colleary; Morgan O’Flaherty, Derek McCormack, Jimmy Dunne, Mark Cully, Eoghan O’Flaherty, Jack Cully. Subs: James Kelly for M Cully, 20 b/c; Ger Cunningham for J Cully, 38; Alan Kearney for McCormack, 56; James Carey for Dunne, 69; Michael Gill for 75

REFEREE: Fergal Barry

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles


FROM THE ARCHIVES: The King of Controversy