Thursday, December 12, 2019

JACK O’Connor has continued the theme of experimentation with his second Kildare team of the 2020 O’Byrne Cup.

Kildare manager Jack O’Connor
Photo: Sean Brilly

A number of new faces will get their chance to impress when Kildare travel to Aughrim to take on Davy Burke’s Wicklow on Saturday at 2pm.

Naas duo Conor McCarthy and Darragh Kirwan are named for their first Kildare starts, as is Clane’s Chris Byrne. There are some significant positional changes too with Celbridge’s Kevin Flynn named in a more advanced wing forward role compared to his usual wing back position, while Johnny Byrne is named in midfield, a position that he has often played in for his club Allenwood but a change to the usual wing back role for his county.

Daniel Flynn missed last week’s defeat to Longford due to a slight hamstring injury but he is again named at number 14 and could make his return to the Kildare team.

Like Kildare, Wicklow lost last weekend, against Carlow, and are looking for their first win under their new manager.

Kildare team to play against Wicklow:

  1. Aaron O’Neill, Carbury¬†
  2. Conor McCarthy, Naas
  3. Eoghan Bateman, Naas
  4. Liam Healy, Moorefield
  5. Con Kavanagh, Sarsfields
  6. David Hyland, Athy (C)
  7. Shea Ryan, Sarsfields
  8. Johnny Byrne, Allenwood
  9. Tommy Moolick, Leixlip
  10. Kevin Flynn, Celbridge
  11. Niall Kelly, Athy
  12. Chris Byrne, Clane
  13. Jack Robinson, Clogherinkoe
  14. Daniel Flynn, Johnstownbridge
  15. Darragh Kirwan, Naas
  16. Mark Donnellan, Maynooth
  17. David O’Neill, Round Towers
  18. Paddy Brophy, Celbridge
  19. Jimmy Hyland, Ballyteague
  20. Robbie Phillips, Clane
  21. Paschal Connell, Athy
  22. Padraig Nash, Monasterevan
  23. Keith Cribbin, Johnstownbridge
  24. Tony Archbold, Celbridge
  25. John O’Toole, Monasterevan
  26. Sam Doran, Johnstownbridge


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles