Thursday, September 24, 2020

Castlemitchell                   1-13

Robertstown                     2-8

By Ian Baker

CODY Mulhall’s 65th minute penalty helped Castlemitchell to a dramatic late win over Robertstown in the Tom Cross Junior Football Championship in Hawkfield on Saturday.

Robertstown’s Danny Scully has his run held up by the Castlemitchell defence including Brendan Harris and John Fennelly during Group B Round 4 game of the Tom Cross Junior Football Championship Photo: Sean Brilly

Despite Robertstown leading by two points in the 60th minute, following two successive Danny Scully points, Cody Mulhall’s famous win for Castlemitchell.

Deadlocked on four occasions in the second-half, even after Robertstown’s Peter Fogarty received a red card, Mulhall’s last-minute goal lifts Castlemitchell into second place in Group B behind Robertstown.

Early Jason Butler and Mark Kelly goals by the 10th minute had Robertstown looking in good shape and while John Fennelly and Joe Maher responded, when Butler and Joe Kavanagh added further points.

Trailing by 2-3 to 0-5 in the 28th minute put Castlemitchell in a precarious position, but Paddy Ryan, O’Rourke and Conor Curtis points reduced the deficit to 2-3 to 0-8 at half-time.

When Mulhall levelled the game twelve minutes into the second-half and Hogarty got his marching orders, Castlemitchell seized the initiative.  The teams remained deadlocked over the next ten minutes with Oisin O’Brien, Mulhall, Curtis, Niall Kane and Kavanagh levelling the game at 2-6 – 0-12 in the 55th minute.

Robertstown seemed to regain control when Scully kicked two points by the 60th minute, but when Mulhall was given the chance late in the game, he ensured Castlemitchell would record a famous victory.

CASTLEMITCHELL: Jack Nolan; Paul McDonagh, Ray Fitzgerald, JP Horgan; David Ran, Brendan Harris, Brian Kavanagh; John Fennelly 0-1, Fionn O’Rourke 0-2; Joe Maher 0-2, (1f), Karol Harris, Michael Lawless; Cody Mulhall 1-3 (1f, pen), Emmet Hyland, Paddy Ryan 0-1. Subs used: Conor Curtis 0- 4(4f), Killian Ward, Cathal Wall, Robert Lovett.

ROBERTSTOWN: Evan Ennis; Paul Prior, Anthony Moran, Cole Lyons; David Morrin, Niall Kane 0 Craig O’Sullivan; Oisin O’Brien 0-1, Peter Hogarty; Brion Kennedy, Mark Kelly, Danny Scully 0-2;  Joe Carthy, Joe Kavanagh 0-3, (2f), Jason Butler 1-1. Subs used: Dean Bagnall, Mark Byrne, Johnny Parkinson.

REFEREE: Matthew Redmond

Full coverage of all Kildare GAA Football Championship games in this week’s Kildare Nationalist, out now.

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles