Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Kildare will have two representatives on Andy Farrell’s Irish team to face Italy in the rescheduled 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championships fixture which will take place at the Aviva Stadium on this Saturday 24 October.



Kildare’s Will Connors to make his debut for Ireland Photo: ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Donadea native Will Connors of Leinster is one of two uncapped players included in the team along  with Hugo Keenan while Ed Byrne and Jamison Gibson-Park are in line for their international debuts off the bench.

Eadestown’s Tadhg Beirne of Munster will earn his 14th cap as he joins James Ryan in the second row.

Kildare’s Tadhg Beirne to win his 14th cap against Italy Photo ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan



Captain, Johnny Sexton is joined in the half backs by Conor Murray with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose paired in the midfield.

Jacob Stockdale is named at fullback with Andrew Conway and the uncapped Keenan, who has been capped at Ireland 7s level, on the wings.

In the front row Cian Healy edges closer to a century of caps as he makes his 99th appearance. He is joined by Rob Herring and Andrew Porter

In the back row Caelan Doris is named at blindside, Will Connors makes his debut at openside and CJ Stander is at No.8.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Italy, Guinness Six Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, 24 October  3.30pm)

15. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 28 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 21 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 29 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 26 caps
11. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 91 caps Captain
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 81 caps
1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 98 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 11 caps
3. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 13 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) 2 caps
7. Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
8. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 41 caps


16. Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 1 cap
17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Corinthians) 9 caps
19. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 15 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 67 caps
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster) uncapped
22. Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps
23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 43 caps

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

“Green” Light For GAA Championship Motion

Similar Articles

No Joy For Clane In Meath