Wednesday, November 18, 2020

Nominations closed at 1pm yesterday, 17 November, for the various Kildare County Board positions. As expected outgoing Chairman, Mick Gorman, and Vice Chairman, Colm Farrell have been returned unopposed while County Treasurer, Alan Dunney will continue in his role following clearance from Croke Park.


Outgoing Chairman, Mick Gorman, will chair the virtual County Convention on 15 December. Photo: Sean Brilly


Outgoing County Secretary, Dave Cahill and outgoing PRO, Christine Murray, have completed their five year terms and must stand aside from those positions.

Cahill has been nominated unopposed for the position of PRO, a position he fulfilled so successfully with his club, Clane, while Murray, after her successful stint as PRO during which she was recognised by the Leinster Council, has been nominated for the position of County Secretary along with County Board Administrative Staff member, Martina Donnelly.

Development Officer, Petria Dobbins, was also nominated for the position of County Secretary but she withdrew her nomination overnight.

The County Convention will be held on Tuesday, 15 December at 7.30pm but because of Covid – 19 restrictions this year’s Convention will be held on-line.

At this month’s County Board meeting, County Chairman, Mick Gorman, advised that Croke Park had requested that no contentious motions be included in this year’s County Conventions but Kildare clubs have gone one better and have not forwarded any motions for consideration.

County Board Nominations 
Cathaoirleach (Chairman): Mick Gorman (Outgoing).
Leas-Cathaoirleach (Vice Chairman): Colm Farrell (Outgoing).
Rúnaí (Secretary): Christine Murray, Martina Donnelly.
Cisteoir (Treasurer): Alan Dunney (Outgoing).
Oifigeach Caidreamh Poibli (PRO): Dave Cahill.
Oifigeach na gCluichi (Coaching Officer): Shane Power (Outgoing).
Oifigeach na Gaeilge (Irish Officer): Séamus Ó Mídheach (Outgoing).
Comhairle Laighean (Leinster Council Delegates X 2): Larry Curtin (Outgoing), Mick Mullen
Ard Chomhairle (Central Council Delegate): Ger Donnelly (Outgoing).
Congress Delegates x 3: Colm Farrell, Alan Dunney, Dave Cahill, Petria Dobbins, Mick Mullen, Séamus Ó Mídheach.

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Local Businesses Support Naas Racecourse

Similar Articles