Monday, February 15, 2021

KILDARE’S Paul Divilly has been named as the Christy Ring Cup Player of the Year for 2020 and Kildare have four players on the GAA/GPA Champion 15 Selection with Rian Boran, Jack Sheridan and James Burke joining Divilly on the 2020 team. 

The 2020 GAA/GPA Champions 15 team contains players from nine counties and features seven players who competed in the Ring Cup, six who competed in the Rackard Cup, and two who competed in the Meagher Cup.


Paul Divilly, Christy Ring Player of the Year 2020 Photo: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Christy Ring Cup winners, Kildare, lead the way with four players on the 15-man selection, while Down, Donegal, Mayo, Fermanagh, Offaly, Louth, Wicklow, and Tyrone are also represented.

Donegal’s Danny Cullen won the Nickey Rackard Cup Award while Louth’s Andrew Mackin  took the Lory Meagher Cup Award.

Announcing the accolades the GAA said Long-serving Paul Divilly was a colossus at midfield throughout Kildare’s campaign and starred in their Final victory over Down, scoring 1-1. Danny Cullen performed similar heroics in the middle of the park for Donegal during their successful pursuit of the Nickey Rackard Cup, and showed real leadership in a dramatic Final victory over Mayo by hitting some crucial points when they were needed most. While Andrew Mackin also proved himself to be a man for the big occasion as he hit 2-1 for Louth in their Lory Meagher Cup Final victory over Fermanagh.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG John Horan said: “This is a great honour for the players chosen and for their families and clubs who they represent. These awards will be a reminder of the lengths all our players went to for our benefit during the tough year that was 2020.”

Paul Flynn, CEO of the GPA, added: “First of all, I want tto take this opportunity to thank all the players who competed in the Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups in 2020. In very challenging times, you helped give fans of our games all over the country something to look forward to and discuss on a weekly basis and that should not be underestimated. My warmest congratulations to the 15 players who have made the Champion 15 and to Paul, Danny and Andrew on being named as Players of the Year in your respective competitions. You are all very deserving winners.”

The selection process for the GAA/GPA 2020 Champion 15 included player and coach feedback and was finalised by an independent selection committee of journalists and referees.

A special programme to honour the GAA/GPA Champion 15 will be featured on RTÉ 2fm’s
Game On programme this Wednesday evening from 6pm.

GAA/GPA Christy Ring Cup Player of the Year: Paul Divilly (Kildare)
GAA/GPA Nickey Rackard Cup Player of the Year: Danny Cullen (Donegal)
GAA/GPA Lory Meagher Cup Player of the Year: Andrew Mackin (Louth)

GAA/GPA Champion 15
1: Stephen Keith (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
2: Sean McVeigh (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup
3: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup
4: Cathal Freeman (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup
5: Conor McShea (Fermanagh) – Lory Meagher Cup
6: Rian Boran (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
7: Danny Cullen (Donegal) – Nickey Rackard Cup
8: Eoghan Cahill (Offaly) – Christy Ring Cup
9: Paul Divilly (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
10: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nickey Rackard Cup
11: James Burke (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
12: Shane Boland (Mayo) – Nickey Rackard Cup
13: Jack Sheridan (Kildare) – Christy Ring Cup
14: Andrew Mackin (Louth) – Lory Meagher Cup
15: Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles

Glenn Ryan To Be New Kildare Manager

Conleth’s Looking Good For ’22

Sport In Your Kildare Nationalist This Week