Friday, February 19, 2021

IT could be a memorable occasion for Clane’s Marcus Hanan  as he is in line to make his Leinster Rugby debut off the bench in Friday evening’s Guinness PRO14 match against Dragons in Rodney Parade, KO 7.35pm. introduced.


Clane’s Marcus Hanan in action for Leinster Rugby Photo: INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The 20-year-old played his age grade rugby with Clane RFC  and was capped by Ireland Under 20s during the 2020 Six Nations. The six foot tall, loosehead prop plays his club rugby with Old Belvedere.

Naas RFC’s Jamie Osborne is also in the 23 man Match Day Squad after making his debut off the bench against Scarlets earlier this month while Kill’s James Tracy has been selected as hooker again on the team selected by Head Coach Leo Cullen.

Luke McGrath will captain the side as Jack Conan makes his 100th appearance for his home province from the base of the scrum.

In the back three, Academy back Max O’Reilly starts at full-back with Cian Kelleher on the right wing and Dave Kearney on the left.

In the centre, Ross Byrne is joined by the fit-again Rory O’Loughlin who has recovered from a shoulder injury.

In the half-backs, captain McGrath is joined by Harry Byrne. It will be the first time that brothers Harry and Ross have started a game together in Leinster colours.

Tracy is joined in the front row by Peter Dooley and Michael Bent with Bent back after a neck injury. Ross Molony and Ryan Baird are selected in the second row.

In the back row Josh Murphy starts at blindside with Scott Penny at openside having recovered from a neck injury.

Wicklow man Conan has been selected number eight. The 28-year-old, who has 17 Ireland caps also to his name, made his debut almost seven years ago to the day also against Welsh opposition when winning the Man of the Match award in a try-scoring performance against Cardiff Blues.

In his seven years in blue he has, to date, scored 21 tries in his 99 appearances.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Max O’Reilly (2)
14. Cian Kelleher (21)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (74)
12. Ross Byrne (95)
11. Dave Kearney (159)
10. Harry Byrne (18)
9. Luke McGrath (140) CAPTAIN
1. Peter Dooley (85)
2. James Tracy (121)
3. Michael Bent (151)
4. Ross Molony (107)
5. Ryan Baird (18)
6. Josh Murphy (40)
7. Scott Penny (20)
8. Jack Conan (99)

16. Dan Sheehan (5)
17. Marcus Hanan (0)
18. Tom Clarkson (5)
19. Devin Toner (256)
20. Scott Fardy (70)
21. Rowan Osborne (6)
22. David Hawkshaw (5)
23. Jamie Osborne (1)


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles

In this week’s Kildare Nationalist Sport