Thursday, March 18, 2021

THERE was bitter disappointment for Kildare’s Irish International, Will Connors, when the Ireland team to face England at Aviva on Saturday (KO 4.45pm) was announced this afternoon as the big Donadea man , who had been performing so well in the green shirt, was ruled out with a knee injury picked up in training.


Will Connors ruled out through injury Photo: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Better news, though, for the other Kildare man, Tadhg Beirne, Man of the Match in the last two internationals, as the Eadestown man has been selected by Head Coach, Andy Farrell in the second row as partner to Iain Henderson, and he will win his 22nd cap.

Captain Johnny Sexton is joined in the halfbacks by Conor Murray and Bundee Aki slots in at inside centre with Robbie Henshaw shifting to the No.13 jersey. Jacob Stockdale is named on the left wing with Keith Earls on the other flank and Hugo Keenan at fullback.

Dave Kilcoyne is named at loosehead alongside Rob Herring at hooker and Tadhg Furlong at tighthead. CJ Stander, who recently announced his retirement from Munster and Ireland, has been selected on the blindside flank, Josh van der Flier at openside with Jack Conan at No.8.

The replacements are Ronan Kelleher, Cian Healy, Andrew Porter, Ryan Baird, Peter O’Mahony, Jamison Gibson Park, Billy Burns and Jordan Larmour.

IRELAND team to play England – Saturday 20 March, 2021
2021 Guinness 6 Nations Championships

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 10 caps
14. Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster) 92 caps
13. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 51 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 30 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 33 caps
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 98 caps CAPTAIN
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 88 caps

1. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 42 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 20 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 48 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 62 caps
5. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 21 caps
6. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 50 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 30 caps
8. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 19 caps

16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 10 caps
17. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 108 caps
18. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 36 caps
19. Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 2 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 74 caps
21. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 9 caps
22. Billy Burns (Ulster) 6 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 28 caps

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport


Sport In Your Kildare Nationalist This Week

Similar Articles

O’Leary For Clongowes