Sunday, May 23, 2021

KILDARE’S LGFA team travel to Portlaoise on Sunday evening to take on Laois in the opening round of the League very conscious that it was the defeat to the O’Moore ladies last November which denied Daniel Moynihan’s charges a chance of reaching an All Ireland semi-final. The match throws in a 5.30pm.


Brooke Dunne (Sarsfields) starts in goals for Kildare against Laois Photo:  ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

Kildare breezed through last year’s League and would surely have won the final but for the advent of the Covid-19 restrictions which caused the competition to be abandoned. The momentum that was evident seemed to desert Kildare in the championship, particularly in that final Group game against Sunday’s opponents.

Moynihan will have to do without the services of two of his stalwarts in recent years, Mary Hulgraine and Erica Burke, for the League at least but his side is boosted by the return to the squad of Mikaela McKenna, Ciara Wheeler and Triona Duggan while the manager is excited about the inclusion in the squad of former Irish underage goalkeeper, Brooke Dunne, who starts in goals on Sunday.

Fronting the Sarsfields player will be the likes of Lara Gilbert, Claire Sullivan and the flying winger, Lauren Murtagh. Siobhan O’Sullivan and Grainne Kenneally will make a very formidable midfield partnership while up front Lara Curran, Grace Clifford, who will captain the side one again, Neasa Dooley and Roisin Byrne are part of a very potent attack.

Matches against neighbours, Laois, are never easy, but this Kildare team believe the have unfinished business in League and Championship from 2020 so expect them to start putting that right on Sunday.

Referee is Ciaran Groome (Offaly)

Kildare LGFA Team To Face Laois

1 Brooke Dunne (Sarsfields)

2 Claire Sullivan (Carbury)

3 Lara Gilbert (Kildangan Nurney)

4 Mia Doherty (Leixlip)

5 Lauren Murtagh (Milltown)

6 Laoise Lenehan (Kill)

7 Hazel McLoughlin (Eadestown)

8 Siobhan O’Sullivan (Eadestown)

9 Grainne Kenneally (Eadestown)

10 Orlaith Sullivan (Carbury)

11 Lara Curran (Milltown)

12 Grace Clifford (Eadestown) (Capt)

13 Ellen Dowling (Suncroft)

14 Neasa Dooley (Castledermot)

15 Roisin Byrne (Sarsfields)

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Busy Weekend For Klub Kildare Teams

Similar Articles