Wednesday, July 14, 2021

IT’S getting harder, you know, this Leinster hurling championship. Tuesday night proved just one match too many for the Kildare U20 hurlers and on Wednesday night in St Conleth’s Park Minor Manager, Eoin Stapleton, will lead his charges as they try to advance in the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Championship.


Niall Dolan, in action for Kildare against Laois on Wednesday last Photo: Sean Brilly

Wexford are the opposition and the match throws in at 7.30pm and the winners will face either Meath or Dublin in the semi-final next Wednesday night. Wexford will be forewarned, for sure, after the defeat of their U20’s to Kildare in Newbridge last week.

Kildare have had two powerful and convincing wins over Carlow and Laois respectively and it’s fair to say they have being playing within themselves in those games. Wexford will be a different proposition though.

Kildare are very solid in defence with the likes of Liam O’Reilly, Rain Redfern and Daniel O’Meara. In midfield top scorer, Fionn Maher,  and Cian Boran, act as perfect foils for each other while Niall Dolan, Alan Tobin and James Nolan are capable of hurting any team with their running style.

If Kildare can continue the progression they have shown in 2021 then they have an excellent chance of causing an upset on Wednesday night.

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Hurling Championship Quarter Final Wednesday 14 July, St Conleth’s Park, 7.30pm

Kildare Team v Wexford

1. Eoin Sheehan Broadford
2. Ciarán Kirwan  Celbridge
3. Liam O’Reilly  Naas
4. Rian Redfern Naas
5. Dara Crowley Éire Óg Corra Choill
6. Daniel O’Meara Maynooth
7. Ryan Sinkey Naas
8. Fionn Maher Naas
9. Cian Boran  Naas
10. Seamus Kelleher  Naas
11. Niall Dolan Éire Óg Corra Choill
12. Alan Tobin  Naas
13. Killian Harrington  Naas
14. Ciarán Mangan  Sallins
15. James Dolan Celbridge
16. Ben Loughlin Naas
17. Bill Hennessy  Naas
18. Oisin Maher Confey
19. Seán Holmes  Celbridge
20. Seán Murphy Naas
21. Josh O’Donoghue Broadford
22. Robbie Wall Maynooth
23. Ben Elliott Ben Celbridge
24. Fionn Cooke Éire Óg Corra Choill
Manager: Eoin Stapleton
Selectors: Noel Ryan, Pat O’Meara, Mairtin Boran, Mark Moloney & Liam Dolan



Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles

Sport In This Week’s Kildare Nationalist

Kildare Whistlers In National Action