Thursday, August 26, 2021


Maynooth’s Mark Travers (Bournemouth AFC) and Leixlip’s Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City) and Nathan Collins (Burnley) have each been included by Republic of Ireland Manager, Stephen Kenny, in a 25-man squad for the upcoming FIFA 2022 World Cup qualifiers against Portugal, Azerbaijan and Serbia. 

Ireland travel to Faro to take on Portugal at the Estádio Algarve on Wednesday, 1 September before returning to Ireland to take on Azerbaijan on Saturday, 4 September and Serbia on Tuesday, 7  September at the Aviva Stadium.


Maynooth’s Mark Travers (Bournemouth AFC) Photo: INPHO/Bagu Blanco

Travers made his first competitive start for Ireland in the away game in Serbia last year  while U21 International, Collins made a €14m move to Burnley during the summer while Omobamidele, who made such an impression late last season at Norwich, was called up to the senior squad for the summer friendlies against Andorra and Hungary.


Leixlip’s Nathan Collins (Burnley)
Photo: INPHO/Matteo Ciambelli

Enda Stevens, Callum O’Dowda, Jason Knight and Chiedozie Ogbene have all been ruled out through injury whilst West Bromwich Albion striker Callum Robinson tested positive for COVID-19 this week, and is currently in isolation.

Leixlip’s Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City) Photo: INPHO: Ryan Byrne

Burnley defender Nathan Collins receives his first call-up to the senior squad whilst Jamie McGrath and Andrew Omobamidele keep their place in the squad after impressing in the summer camp in Andorra and Hungary.

Brighton and Hove Albion striker Aaron Connolly and Newcastle United midfielder Jeff Hendrick return to the squad having missed the summer international friendlies, with the squad set to fly out to Portugal on Sunday.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley).

Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion)

Attackers: Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), James Collins (Cardiff City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Shane Long (Southampton), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth).


1 September – Portugal v Republic of Ireland, Estádio Algarve, 7.45pm
4 September- Republic of Ireland v Azerbaijan, Aviva Stadium, 5pm
7 September- Republic of Ireland v Serbia, Aviva Stadium, 7.45pm


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport


Sport In Your Kildare Nationalist This Week

Similar Articles