Friday, September 03, 2021

NAAS players, Mary Healy and the uncapped Emily McKeown, have been included in the Match Day Squad, by Leinster Rugby head coach Phil de Barra, to face Ulster in the second round of the Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Series on Saturday in Energia Park (KO 5pm – live on TG4).


Emily McKeown of Naas RFC included in the Leinster Match Day Squad for Saturday’s Interprovincial against Ulster Photo Harry Murphy/Sportsfile

Healy has been included in the front row while McKeown will hope to make his debut off the bench.

It’ll be the side’s first time back at home in Energia Park since clinching the 2019 Interprovincial Series with a win over Connacht in September 2019.

There are six changes to the lineup from the 17-12 win at The Sportsground in the first round last weekend.

Wicklow RFC’s Ella Roberts comes into the side at full back after making her debut against Connacht last Saturday. She’ll be flanked by the Old Belvedere pair of Grace Miller, who retains her place, and Elise O’Byrne-White who comes in on the left wing.

There’s no change in midfield as round one player of the match Michelle Caffey is joined by Niamh Byrne once again.

Nikki Caughey is named in the side at out-half, partnered by her Railway Union clubmate Molly Scuffil-McCabe.

There’s one change in the front row where Mary Healy will play at tighthead, her first start for the province. She’ll be alongside captain Christy Haney and Lisa Callan.

Mairead Holohan and Clodagh Dunne make up the second row while Emma Murphy, Jennie Finlay, a try-scorer against Connacht, and Jenny Murphy complete the lineup.

Former Naas player, Jenny Murphy, has been included at No 8

Naas RFC’s Emily McKeown is named among the replacements and will be hoping to make her debut for the province while de Barra will also be able to call upon Chloe Blackmore, Vic O’Mahony, Caoimhe Molloy, Elaine Anthony, Rachel Horan, Lauren Farrell-McCabe and Aine Donnelly.

Leinster Rugby team v Ulster Rugby:

15. Ella Roberts (Wicklow RFC)
14. Grace Miller (Old Belvedere RFC)
13. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College RFC)
12. Niamh Byrne (Railway Union RFC)
11. Elise O Byrne-White (Old Belvedere RFC)
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC)
9. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Railway Union RFC)

1. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC) CAPTAIN
2. Lisa Callan (Railway Union RFC)
3. Mary Healy (Naas RFC)
4. Mairead Holohan (Blackrock College RFC)
5. Clodagh Dunne (Old Belvedere RFC)
6. Emma Murphy (Railway Union RFC)
7. Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere RFC)
8. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC)

16. Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union RFC)
17. Vic O’Mahony (Old Belvedere RFC)
18. Caoimhe Molloy (Blackrock College RFC)
19. Elaine Anthony (Old Belvedere RFC)
20. Rachel Horan (CYM RFC)
21. Lauren Farrell-McCabe (Suttonians RFC)
22. Emily McKeown (Naas RFC)*
23. Aine Donnelly (Old Belvedere RFC)

*Uncapped at this level

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles