Friday, October 08, 2021

KILDARE’S Adam Byrne, returns to the Leinster Rugby team announced by Head Coach, Leo Cullen, to face Zebre Parma in Round 3 of the United Rugby Championship on Saturday afternoon (KO 1pm, LIVE on RTÉ Sport, Premier Sport and URC TV).


Kildare’s Adam Byrne returns to the Leinster team for Saturday’s match against Zebre at the RDS

Kill native, Byrne, returns after a series of significant injuries kept him out of action since December 2019 when he started against Munster and he is placed on the right wing in a back three which also includes Naas man, Jimmy O’Brien, who makes his first appearance of the season, and another returnee, Jordan Larmour on the left wing. 

Luke McGrath will captain the side for the first time this season, and as well as that new back three there are a number of changes to the XV that beat Dragons away from home last week.

It’s a new centre combination this week also with Skerries man Ciarán Frawley in the number 12 jersey and Naas RFC’s Jamie Osborne outside him.

McGrath is partnered by Harry Byrne who returns from a minor foot injury to start his first game of the season. In the pack, Ed Byrne and Seán Cronin come in this week but it’s a third start in-a-row for new signing Michael Ala’alatoa who will experience the RDS Arena for the first time.

Devin Toner is involved in a match day 23 for the first time this campaign and starts in the second row alongside Ryan Baird.

In the back row, Dan Leavy starts his first game of the season, as does Scott Penny, with Rhys Ruddock retained from the starting XV last week but moving from blindside flanker to No 8 for Saturday’s game. 

On the bench, Rónan Kelleher is back involved with Leinster for the first time this season having toured with the British and Irish Lions to South Africa during the summer.

​​Tickets for the game are still on sale for the  with capacity for the game capped at 75 per cent of the RDS Arena total.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Jimmy O’Brien (35) 
14. Adam Byrne (57)
13. Jamie Osborne (7) 
12. Ciarán Frawley (37) 
11. Jordan Larmour (62) 
10. Harry Byrne (24) 
9. Luke McGrath (152) CAPTAIN

1. Ed Byrne (72)
2. Seán Cronin (195) 
3. Michael Ala’alatoa (2)
4. Devin Toner (266) 
5. Ryan Baird (29) 
6. Dan Leavy (73) 
7. Scott Penny (29) 
8. Rhys Ruddock (190)

16. Rónan Kelleher (25) 
17. Peter Dooley (93) 
18. Cian Healy (233) 
19. Ross Molony (118) 
20. Max Deegan (67) 
21. Nick McCarthy (37) 
22. Johnny Sexton (174)
23. Rob Russell (1) 
Referee: Sam Grove-White (SRU)

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport


Sport In Your Kildare Nationalist This Week