Thursday, October 28, 2021

Fight Night – written by Gavin Kostick, directed by Bryan Burroughs and starring Aonghus Óg McAnally – is coming to the Riverbank Arts Centre in Newbridge on 4 November.

Ten years ago, audiences and critics alike were captivated by the story of the comeback of a failed amateur boxer, which premiered as part of the inaugural year of Show-in-a-bag productions.

This gripping tale went on to become one of Irish theatre’s most loved productions and has in the past ten years toured extensively reaching audiences across the country and internationally, winning Best Actor and the Bewley’s Little Gem awards at Dublin Fringe, and being nominated Best New Play at the Irish Times Irish Theatre Awards. Now, Rise Productions are delighted to announce a special tenth anniversary tour.

Fight Night charts the comeback of Dan Coyle Jr, a failed amateur boxer from a long line of accomplished fighters. Dan is a third generation boxer and is played by a third generation actor in Aonghus Óg McAnally, grandson of three-time Best Actor BAFTA winner Ray McAnally and son of RTE broadcaster Aonghus McAnally.

Living in the shadows of his overbearing father and his brother’s Olympic success, Dan lets his training slip in favour of girls and booze. Then, an incident with his father minutes before a crucial bout splinters the family, and exiles Dan from the ring. It’s not until the birth of his own son years later that his competitive fire is reignited, and he takes the first tentative steps on his road to redemption.

This fast-paced and engaging solo performance combines intense physicality with a classic Dublin wit in a storytelling experience that will leave audiences both exhausted and exhilarated.

The creative team, led by Gavin Kostick and Bryan Burroughs, also includes a boxing coach and former Irish champion Oisín ‘Gael Force’ Fagan as boxing advisor. With their help and guidance Aonghus has been in fight camp for eight months, back with his original boxing, strength and conditioning coaches, cutting six stone to get in shape for the role.

Tour dates are as follows:

4 November, Newbridge – Riverbank Arts Centre riverbank.ie/

5 November, Armagh – The Market Place Theatre & Arts Centre marketplacearmagh.ticketsolve.com/shows

9 November, Galway – Town Hall Theatre tht.ie

11 November, Drogheda – Droichead Arts Centre droichead.com

12 November, Dun Laoghaire – Pavilion Theatre paviliontheatre.ie

13 November, Cavan – Townhall Cavan townhallcavan.ticketsolve.com/shows

18 November, Castlebar – The Linenhall Arts Centre thelinenhall.com

19 November, Roscommon – Roscommon Arts Centre roscommonartscentre.ie

25 November, Ennis – Glór glor.ie

26 November, Thurles – The Source Arts Centre thesourceartscentre.ie

27 November, Blanchardstown – Draíocht draiocht.ie

2 December, Portlaoise – Dunamaise Arts Centre dunamaise.ie

3 December, Bray – Mermaid Arts Centre mermaidartscentre.ie

4 December, Limerick – Lime Tree Theatre limetreetheatre.ie

8 December, Longford – Backstage Theatre & Centre for the Arts backstage.ie

9 December, Ballymun – Axis Ballymun axisballymun.ie

18, 19 and 20 January, Cork – The Everyman everymancork.com

31 January, Tallaght – The Civic Theatre civictheatre.ie

4 and 5 February, Dublin – Smock Alley Theatre smockalley.com

10 February, Donegal – An Grianán Theatre angrianan.com

12 February, Tralee – Siamsa Tíre Theatre siamsatire.com

By Conor Forrest
Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare News