Friday, November 05, 2021

THE Kildare LGFA Senior Final is now upon us. There were a few false starts or interruptions with CODA called in to resolve a Group match and then Leixlip having issues with the staging of the final at 7.30pm on Friday night.

The Burke Cup, named after Davy Burke’s late father, Kieran.

All issues now resolved the Final will now go ahead on Friday evening at 8pm in Manguard Plus Kildare GAA Centre of Excellence in Hawkfield.

Eadestown, the defending champions, are firm favourites to retain the Burke Cup named after Davy Burke’s late father, Kieran. They will be wary of a Leixlip side who didn’t read the semi final script and denied a repeat of last year’s decider between Eadestown and Sarsfields, even if the champions were convincing winners over Leixlip in the Group stages of this year’s championship.

Eadestown also defeated Confey and Suncroft in the Group stages before having a convincing 3-17 to 1-4 victory over St Laurence’s in the semi final. Leixlip’s only defeat was against Eadestown in Round 1 but they went on to defeat Suncroft and Confey before their surprise defeat of Sarsfields by 3-11 to 3-7 in the semi final.

Although the defending champions will be without county player, Siobhan O’Sullivan, because of overseas duties, Manager, Gavan Doyle, can still call on the experienced Grainne Kenneally, Grace Clifford and Hazel McLoughlin as well as younger players, Sara Carroll, Aine Mernagh and Ruth Sargent.

Leixlip Manager, Matt Masterson, has plenty of aces up his own sleeve as well in the vastly experienced former county player, Maria Moolick, captain, Aileen Quinn, as well as current county players, Mia Doherty and Eva Turley. However, both managers are at pains to point out that it is the younger players that have given them the impetus in 2021.

After all the wait a big crowd is sure to witness a great final under lights and if Eadestown play to form then they will prevail. Any dip in that and Leixlip will pounce.


Eoghan O’Neill is the Referee for Friday night’s Kildare Senior Championship Final. Eoghan has officiated at all levels in Kildare and at Provincial level and this will be his senior final. Rebecca Brereton and Bill Brophy will be the Lines persons with Darren Malone as 4th Official.

Match Referee Eoghan O’Neill


Round 1: Eadestown 6-18  1-7 Leixlip

Round 2: Eadestown 3-19 3-8 Confey

Leixlip 2-12 3 -8 Suncroft

Round 3: Eadestown 6-13 0-05 Suncroft

Leixlip 2-20 4-14 Confey

Semi-Finals: Eadestown 3-17 1-4 St Laurence’s

Leixlip 3-11 3-7 Sarsfields



1. Siobhan Tierney

2 Aine Mernagh

3. Rose Mernagh

4. Laura Byrne

17. Roisin Ellis (Capt)

6. Denise Tierney

7.Ruth Sargent

8. Grainne Kenneally

9 Hazel McLoughlin

10.Jessica Harrington

11. Grace Clifford

12. Aine Ni Rathaillaigh

13. Sara Carroll

14. Angela McGuigan

15. Tara Bedford

16. Alannah Kelly

18. Maryann Ryan

19. Niamh Byrne

20. Emer McLoughlin

21. Grace McLoughlin

22. Sarah Dowling

23. Elizabeth McLoughlin

24. Katie Ryan

25. Ruth Downey

26. Hannah Byrne

27. Katie Fitzsimons

28. Keela Magee

29. Eva Murphy

30. Siobhan O’Sullivan

Management Team 

Gavan Doyle (Manager)

Brian Willis

Ger Kavanagh

Barbara Sargent

Aoife Wosser

Nicky Donoghue

Rachel Tuohy FLO


1. Corla Nallen

2. Ciara Harrington

3. Tara Hallinan

4. Aileen Quinn (Capt)

5. Emily Birch

6. Eva Turley

7. Catherine Grier

8. Amy McGrane

9. Melissa King

10. Mia Doherty

11. Karen O’Shea

12. Mollie Dagg

13. Grainne Lyons

14. Maria Moolick

15. Joanne Timmins

16. Aisling Savage

17. Sinead McHugh

18. Caoimhe Masterson

20. Ashling McCarthy

21. Michelle De Carvello

22. Amy Harrington

23. Eimear Harrington

24. Albhie Harrington

25. Sarah Timmins

26. Kerri Thornton

27. Ashling Kelly

28. Kaithlin Devitt

29. Suin O’Gorman

30. Emily Grecka

Management Team 

Matt Masterson (Manager)

Michael Doherty

Sean O’Toole

Damien Long

Des Walsh

Angie Butler Harrington FLO






Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Seen – Unseen goes racing

Similar Articles