Saturday, November 06, 2021


By Pat Costello

A dramatic 1-1 in the closing minutes saw Kilcock and Ballymore Eustace emerge from the darkness of St Conleth’s Park on Sunday last to hopefully light up our sporting lives in the replay of the Auld Shebeen IFC at the Grand Old Lady of GAA Stadiums on this Saturday afternoon with a 1.30pm.


Caolan Halpin and Jason Gibbons in action in the drawn game. They’ll be in action again in the replay on Saturday, Photo: Sean Brilly

Kilcock will feel that they have been involved in, or have given us enough drama, in this competition after last year’s one point loss to neighbours, Clogherinkoe, and now Sunday last when they allowed Ballymore Eustace to come back at them with the Hugh Campion Cup seemingly in their grasp.

During the week Manager, Cian Flanagan, had the task of lifting the spirits of his shell shocked charges. They were favourites to take the title and remain so, but the experience of the closing stages of the 2020 and 2021 finals will surely snap at confidence. There are enough players of note on the North Kildare team to do just that with the likes of Daniel Courtney, Jason Gibbons, Cormac Divilly out the field as well as forwards Shane O’Rourke, Shane Farrell and Findlay Nairn capable, individually or collectively of taking them over the line.

Across the Liffey Ballymore Eustace Manager, Ronan Joyce, will have a different challenge, bringing his players down from Cloud 9 after last Sunday’s draw. They probably have the momentum a little bit with their dramatic comeback but Joyce will be telling his players that they were never really out of the drawn game at any stage.

Shane Barrett was vital to them as usual last week but Michael Stewart Byrne, Caolan Halpin and Simon Murphy are all capable of mixing it with the best on the big day.

Who will win the replay? You might as well ask, who will win the lotto! But just as the Lotto can be won so too can the 2021 Auld Shebeen Athy IFC and even if they have been caught at the death in the last two finals Kilcock still have the aces to finally deliver.



1 Ciaran Heneghan
2 Luke Sheridan
3 Mark Durkan
4 Sean Eves
5 David Duke
6 Sean Maguire
7 Daniel Courtney
8 Jason Gibbons
9 Cormac Divilly
10 Daragh Mc Ardle
11 Sean O Sullivan
12 Chris Mc McCarthy
13 Shane O Rourke
14 Shane Farrell
15 Findlay Nairn
16 Shane Stone
17 Eoin Mc Ardle
18 Marcus Duke
19 Conor Sheridan
20 Johnny Sullivan
21 Paddy Kelly
22 Danny Byrne
23 Cian O Sullivan
24 Jamie Acton
25 Paul O Brien
26 Rory O Brien
27 Eoghan Mulhall
28 Ronan Mulligan
29 Cian Mulhall
30 Brendan Gibbons

Manager:  Cian Flanagan

Team Officials: Darren Acton, David McTernan, Michael Heneghan, Dermot Finn, Darren O’Connor, Stuart Brennan,  Aaron Curtin, Donal Cummins.

Ballymore Eustace

1 Tommie Archbold
2 Kevin Kelleher
3 Mark Barrett
4 Joe Broderick
5 Sean Broderick
6 Michael Stewart Byrne
7 David McAtamney
8 Shane Barrett
9 Caolan Halpin
10 Simon Murphy
11 Niall O’Neill
12 Charlie Litton
13 Gareth Clarke
14 Tadhg Barrett
15 Brian Crowe
16 Patrick Murphy
17 Patrick Doyle
18 Tadhg Grace
19 Stephen Dwyer
20 Enda Stewart Byrne
21 Ben Noone
22 Callum McClintock
23 Liam Broderick
24 Mark Slevin
25 Liam Crowe
26 Shane Kavanagh
27 Stephen Doyle
28 Eoin Clarke Eoghan
29 Aaron Deegan
30 Danny Gorman

Manager: Ronan Joyce

Team Officials: Sam Fahey, Alan Cullagh, Natasha Graham, John Conway, Bernie Barrett, Keith Burke,  Stephen Davis, Gillian Murphy,  Ronan O’Malley

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles