Wednesday, January 12, 2022


DCU: 2-17
Maynooth University: 1-9

By Eoin Beatty

DCU advanced to the next round of this year’s Sigerson Cup, with a rather comfortable win over Maynooth University on Tuesday night.
The current holders of the cup raced into a five point lead inside the opening 12 minutes courtesy of Robert Finnerty, Luke Towey, Red Og Murphy, Shane Tierney and Jack Bryant, and DCU remained in full control throughout the entirety of the tie.

Maynooth University’s Shane O’Sullivan (Clane/Kildare), tries to push his way past DCU’s Shea Ryan (Sarsfields/ Kildare) in Round 1 of the Sigerson Cup on Tuesday night Photo: Sean Brilly

Played in freezing conditions on the Maynooth University North Campus, the home side had to wait until the 16th minute for their first score of the game to arrive and it came through Clane man, Shane O’Sullivan, from a free.
DCU outscored the hosts by 0-4 points to 0-3 in the lead up to the half time whistle and held a relatively commanding 0-9 to 0-4 point advantage.
Goals were the killer blow for Maynooth University in the second half, and although they did manage to grab a consolation of their own through Dan Lynham, it was the two from DCU players Robert Finnerty and Joseph Hagan that proved decisive.
The goals, coupled with some excellent points from play ensured that DCU went on to the next stage of the competition, full value for their win.
DCU: David O’Hanlon; Daniel Corcoran, Shea Ryan, Mark Curran; Sean Fitzgerald, Shane Walsh 0-2, Luke Towey 0-1; Liam Coleman, Red Og Murphy 0-1; Bill Carroll, Robert Finnerty 1-3 (1f) Paraic Hughes; Karl Lynch Bissett, Jack Bryant 0-2, Shane Tierney 0-2 (1f) Subs: Mark Barry 0-3 for Finnerty 42, Joseph Hagan 1-2 for Tierney 42, Matthew Costello for Coleman 46, Conor Ryan for Carroll 52, Ross
O’Mearlaigh for Corcoran 57.
Maynooth University: Cian Burke; Colm Hartnett, Kieran Doran, Keith Murphy; Jamie Coffey, Colin Walsh 0-2, Kieran Dwyer; Darragh Lyons 0-1, Darragh Warnock; Paddy McDermott, Diarmuid Egan, Colum Feeney 0-1; Conor Chawke, Shane O’Sullivan 0-4 (3f), Jack Darcy. Subs: Sam McCormack for Feeney HT, Dan Lynham 1-0 for Coffey HT, Eoghan Mulhall 0-1 for Darcy 39 inj, Ciaran Burns for Dwyer 46, Conor Kehoe for Chawke 48.
REFEREE: Brendan Cawley (Kildare)

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Seen – Unseen goes racing

Similar Articles