Saturday, April 30, 2022

GLENN Ryan and his Kildare Management Team have named their team to face Louth in the Quarter Final of the Leinster Senior Football Championship in Tullamore on Sunday, throw-in 4pm.

Ben McCormack (Sarsfields) lines out on the ’40 for Kildare in the Leinster SFC Quarter Final V Louth in Tullamore on Sunday Photo: Sean Brilly

Mark Donnellan (Maynooth) gets the nod to start in goals after alternating with Carbury’s Aaron O’Neill  throughout the Allianz League.

The full back line remains in tact as Mick O’Grady (Celbridge) will again captain the side from the right corner back position with Shea Ryan (Sarsfields) and Ryan Houlihan (Moorefield) completing the line.

In the half-back line Kevin Flynn (Celbridge) is restored to the half back line after playing at midfield or wing forward during the Division 1 League campaign and he is joined by James Murray (Moorefield) and Tony Archbold (Celbridge).

Kevin Flynn (Athy) has a new midfield partner in the powerful Kevin O’Callaghan from Celbridge.

In the forwards Alex Beirne (Naas) slots in to the half forward like along with Ben McCormack (Sarsfields) and Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge) while in the full forward line Clane’s Brian Mcloughlin gets the nod at right corner forward where he joins the exciting duo of Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge) and Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague).

Mickey Harte’s Louth had a comfortable 5-10 to 0-10 victory over Carlow on Sunday last. Captain, Sam Mulroy contributed 2-5 to that total with a further 1-1 each coming from Conor Grimes and Tommy Durnin.

Kildare V Louth Leinster SFC Quarter Final Bord na Mona O’Connor Park, Tullamore, Sunday 1 May, 4pm Referee: David Gough (Meath)

1 Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2 Mick O’Grady (Celbridge) (Captain)

3 Shea Ryan (Sarsfields)

4 Ryan Houlihan (Moorefield)

5 Tony Archbold (Celbridge)

6 James Murray (Moorefield)

7 Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8 Kevin Feely (Athy)

9 Kevin O’Callaghan (Celbridge)

10 Alex Beirne (Naas)

11 Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)

12 Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13 Brian McLoughlin (Clane)

14 Daniel (Flynn)

15 Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)

Management Team

Manager: Glenn Ryan

Selector/Coaches: Anthony Rainbow, Johnny Doyle, Dermot Earley

Kildare v Louth in Summary 1888-2022

  Championship League Other Total
Kildare Wins 18 7 9 34
Louth Wins 2 2 0 4
Draws 12 5 7 24
Total 32 14 16 62


Kildare V Louth – Last 10 Championship Meetings

Date Competition Round Venue Score
2014 Leinster QF Croke Park Kildare 1-22 Louth 1-7
2013 Qualifiers Rd 2 Newbridge Kildare 1-19 Louth 0-15
2010 Leinster QF Navan Louth 1-22 Kildare 1-16
2007 Qualifiers Rd 2 Newbridge Louth 1-16 Kildare 1-10
2002 Leinster QF Navan Kildare 0-12 Louth 0-11
2000 Leinster QF Croke Park Kildare 1-12 Louth 0-12
1995 Leinster R1 Newbridge Louth 0-13 Kildare 0-11
1991 Leinster QF Drogheda Louth 2-11 Kildare 2-10
1978 Leinster R1 Navan Kildare 4-15 Louth 1-8
1971 Leinster QF Rep Croke Park Kildare 0-11 Louth 1-5


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles