Monday, May 02, 2022


AYHY                1-15                                                                                                                                                        CELBRIDGE    0-7

By Seamus Dillon                                                                                                                                                                    THE final of the Aldridge Cup never got to the levels of the opening Keogh Cup game earlier on Monday but Athy won’t mind as they added the title to their CV.

The Athy Squad, winners of the Aldridge Cup by defeating Celbridge in the Final on Bank Holiday Monday in St Conleth’s Park Photo: Martin Rowe

Played in front of a small crowd it was former County man Paddy Brophy who registered the opening score for Celbridge. By the 17th minute he had added two more from frees. Athy, for their part, had plenty of possession but kicked too many wides but still led  by a point 0-4 to 0-3 after 22 minutes courtesy of  points from Paudie Behan with two and one each from Paschal Connell and Kieran Farrell.

Paddy Brophy scored his third free and fourth points  of the game to level it on 24 minutes. Brophy again and Paschal Connell  swapped points in the 26th and 27th minutes to keep it level. Paddy Brophy’s  an excellent score off the right boot  as he came in from the left. Two late Paudie Behan frees left Athy 0-7 to 0-5 ahead at the break.

On the resumption Athy upped the  pace considerably and  two points in the 35th and 36th minutes through Shane Jackman and Kieran Farrell pushed the lead out to four.  As darkness descended Paschal Connell and Barry Kelly made it  six with two excellent scores from play.

Celbridge hit four wides in a row as they failed to trouble the umpires bur at the other end Athy were prolific with their possession and by the 46st  minute Oisin O’Rourke, Ben Purcell and a Paudie Behan free opened a nine point gap.

Athy rang the changes with five subs by 47 minutes but this only pushed them on. Their superior work rate keeping Celbridge at bay until the 58th minute when two late points from Niall Donnelly and Liam O’Flynn brought their total to 0-7 points.

Athy had time for a final minute  Sean Ronan goal to put the gloss on a good performance.

ATHY: James Rycroft; Sean Moore, Cathal McCarron, Darren Lawlor; Barry Kelly, 0-1, Mark Hyland, Shane Jackman 0-1;  Paschal Connell 0-3, Michael Spillane; John Moran, Cian Reynolds, Kieran Farrell,0-2;  Darroch Mulhall, Paudie Behan 0-6 (4fs), Ben Purcell 0-1. SUBS: Sean Ronan 1-0 for Darroch Mulhall H/ T, Killian Mulhall for Kieran Farrell 38, Niall McEvoy for John Moran 40, Sean Bride for Shane Jackman 44, Oisin O Rourke 0-1 for Sean Moore 47, Mark Anderson for James Rycroft 52, Conor Doyle for Paschal Connell 53 , Nick Jackman for Darren Lawler 54.                                                                                                            CELBRIDGE: Shane McNamara; Lee Maycock, Hugh McGrillen, James Killian; Cian Powell, Ronan Brophy, John Clarke; Johnny Owens, Conor Plunkett; Michael Konstantin, Paddy Brophy, 0-5 (3fs) Niall Donnelly 0-1; Daniel Kilgannon, Liam O Flynn 0-1, Darragh Archbold. SUBS: Adam Synnott for Darragh Archbold 56, Sean Gleeson for Ronan Brophy 56, John Costello for John Clarke 56, Peter McAteer  for Johnny Owens 59.

REFEREE: Alan Lagrue

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles