Tuesday, May 10, 2022

KILDARE Minor Football Manager, Niall Cronin, has named his his team to face Wicklow in the Electric Ireland Leinster MFC semi final in St Conleth’s Park on Wednesday evening, throw in 7pm.

James Harris, Castlemitchell, seen here in action against Longford in Round 2, will again captain Kildare minors in the Leinster semi final against Wicklow on Wednesday night       Photo: Sean BrillyNot unexpectedly the Naas man has returned to the players who played in the opening two rounds against Offaly and Longford with only five of those who played last time out against Meath retaining their places. James Harris, the captain, Eoin Lawlor, Joey Cunningham, Joe Hanamy and Eoin Cully, will start again on Wednesday night.

There are quite a number of positional switches from, say, the Longford game, among them, Ben Ryan moving to full back, Joey Cunningham moving to right half back, and Cormac O’Sullivan partnering Cian O’Reilly at midfield.

Kildare defeated Offaly, Longford and Meath in the Group stages but haven’t played competitively for four weeks while opponents, Wicklow, who came through the Quarter Final route, played Longford and Westmeath in the last two weeks.

Niall Cronin and his Management Team have the Kildare team playing a nice brand of football where they can play with flair or grind out a result as required and, although it won’t be easy, they should carry enough to see them through to the Leinster Final.

Kildare v Wicklow, Electric Ireland MFC, Wednesday 11, St Conleth’s Park, 7.00pm Referee: Alan Coyne (Westmeath)

1 Fintan Quinn (Naas)
2 Jamie McGuirk (Naas)
3 Ben Ryan (Round Towers)
4 Eoin Lawlor (Naas)
5 Joey Cunningham (Allenwood)
6 James Harris (Castlemitchell) (Capt)
7 Tom Kelly (Naas)
8 Cormac O’Sullivan (Celbridge)
9 Cian O’Reilly (Raheens)
10 Ben Loakman (Sarsfields)
11 Ryan Rainey (Johnstownbridge)
12 Killian Browne (Celbridge)
13 Joe Hanamy (St Laurence’s)
14 Ryan Sinkey (Naas)
15 Eoin Cully (Carbury)
Calum Doran (Clane)
Cathal Moore (Sarsfields)
Cillian Geraghty (Maynooth)
Conor Kelly (Athy)
Daire Gilmartin (Raheens)
Daniel Hamill (Raheens)
DJ Percival (Robertstown)
Evan Gilmartin (Raheens)
Evan O’Briain (Naas)
Glen Carter (Cappagh)
Jack Egan (Maynooth)
Jack Ryan (Round Towers)
James Loughman (Sarsfields)
Jay O’Brien (Round Towers)
Mark Cleary (Celbridge)
Michael Stokes (Kilcock)
Niall Cramer (Raheens)
Padraig Daly (Round Towers)
Patrick Donoghue (Milltown)
Ross Harris (Castlemitchell)
TJ Nolan (St Laurence’s)

Management Team

Manager: Niall Cronin
Selectors: James Devane, Hugh Lynch, Eamonn Callaghan

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles