Saturday, May 14, 2022

KILDARE Manager, Glenn Ryan, has made two changes to the side that beat Louth in the Quarter Final for Sunday’s Leinster SFC semi – final date with Westmeath in Croke Park, Throw-in 2.15pm.


Mike Joyce, seen here in actions against Westmeath’s Luke Loughlin, in the O’Byrne Cup, will start against the same opposition in Sundays’ Leinster SFC semi final in Croke Park. Photo: Sean Brilly

One of the changes is an forced one as talented corner back Ryan Houlihan, who limped out of the Louth tie, hasn’t recovered in time so his place will be taken by Mike Joyce of Round Towers who replaced him in the second half in that game. Joyce got some game time earlier in the season.

The other change could be described a tactical as Darragh Kirwan, Naas, who came off the bench to score 1-3 against Louth, has been retained in the right corner forward position with Clane’s Brian McLoughlin dropping to the bench.

While Kildare were defeating Louth by 2-22 to 0-12, the goals coming from a Kevin Feely penalty and one from play by Kirwan, Westmeath were beating Longford 3-13 to 0-14 with the goals coming from John Heslin, Ronan O’Toole and Robbie Forde.

Although only two points separated the sides at the semi final stage last year Kildare have been operating at a higher level and a higher intensity in the Allianz League and are expected to carry too much power to be denied by Westmeath from reaching their second Leinster Final in a row,

KildareĀ  V Westmeath, Leinster SFC Semi Final, Sunday 15 May, 2.15pm Croke Park, Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

1 Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2 Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

3 Shea Ryan (Sarsfields)

4 Mike Joyce (Round Towers)

5 Tony Archbold (Celbridge)

6 James Murray (Moorefield)

7 Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8 Kevin Feely (Athy)

9 Kevin O’Callaghan (Celbridge)

10 Alex Beirne (Naas)

11 Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)

12 Paul Cribbin Johnstownbridge

13 Darragh Kirwan (Naas)

14 Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)

15 Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)

Management Team

Manager: Glenn Ryan

Coach/Selectors: Anthony Rainbow, Johnny Doyle, Dermot Earley

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Similar Articles

Kildare GAA Fixtures