Wednesday, June 22, 2022


Naas: 2-16

Confey: 0-9

By Eoin Beatty

NAAS have moved to top spot in the EMS Copiers SFL Division 1, following a deserved win over Confey on Wednesday evening.


Darragh Kirwan scored 1-5 as Naas defeated Confey to go top of Division 1 of the EMS Copiers SFL Division 1 on Wednesday evening Photo: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Going into the game, Naas knew anything other than a defeat would ensured they leap-frogged Sarsfields at the summit and attention turns now to the final round of fixtures which are due to be played next Tuesday.

Naas raced into an early lead, but were pegged back soon after by some great Confey scores and after 10 minutes, the two sides were all square at 0-3 points apiece, but this was the closest the team from the north of the county would get to Naas for the remainder of the tie.

Dermot Hanafin pointed and then goaled after 14 minutes and that was followed up by some excellent points from the boots of Darragh Kirwan and Alex Beirne respectively.

Both teams traded further points before half time and the scoreboard read 1-8 to 0-6 at the break in favour of the men in blue and white.

The second half was more one-sided and Naas outscored Confey 1-8 to 0-3, with the aforementioned Kirwan, Beirne and Hanafin all adding to their tallies, while Kevin Cummins also chipped in.

Ciaran Lyons, David Slattery and Dean Malone kept the scoreboard ticking for Confey, but ultimately they were out of the contest by the 45th minute.

Darragh Kirwan put a final gloss on the scoreline with the last kick of the ball, following a point from Ailin McDermott, Kirwan raised a green flag with an expertly taken finish.

Next up for Naas is a game against Clane in Conneff Park on Tuesday, while Confey are away to St Laurence’s.

NAAS: David Morrissey; Cathal Daly, Eoin Doyle, Mark Maguire; Paddy McDermott, Eoghan Prizeman, Tom Browne; Sean Hanafin, Alex Beirne 0-4; Drew Costello 0-1, Eamonn Callaghan, Paul McDermott; Dermot Hanafin 1-3, Kevin Cummins 0-2, Darragh Kirwan 1-5 1f. Subs: Sean Cullen for Callaghan 43, Ailin McDermott 0-1 for Costello, Shane Bergin for Paul McDermott 50, Conor Mellett for Cummins 52.

CONFEY: Colin Heeney; Colm Chan, Ciaran Kilbane, Aiden Crean; Imad Mirza 0-1, Conor Dennehy, Shane Dineen; Paul Divily, Ciaran Lyons 0-1; Joe Kilbane 0-1, David Slattery 0-1f, Niall Cawley; Fergal McGeogh 0-2, Niall Carney 0-2 1f, Conor Jennings. Subs: Andrew Breslin for Crean HT, Dean Malone 0-1 for Joe Kilbane 50, Neil Ryan for Slattery 59.

REFEREE: Declan Peppar

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Busy Weekend For Klub Kildare Teams

Similar Articles