Friday, September 09, 2022

IT’S a high noon meeting on Sunday as Eire Óg Corra Choill and Wolfe Tones meet in the UPMC Junior Hurling Final in St Conleth’s Park.

Wolfe Tones, an amalgamation of Sallins and Kill, topped their Group with victories over Cappagh and Clane while Kilcock conceded their game to them. The Round 3 game against Clane turned out to be an interesting affair with Tones just winning out by a point, 3-13 to 3-12.

Graphics by Really Unofficial Kildare GAA Fan Page

In the semi final Wolfe Tones looked liked they were about to exit the championship to Ros Glas only for a late Ross Doyle goal to level the game to send it to a replay. Tones were overwhelming winners in that replay though.

In Group B Eire Óg Corra Choill had big wins over Naas and Leixlip but they had to pull out all the stops to defeat Ros Glas 1-20 to 2-15 and so top the Group.

In the semi final a contribution of 1-9 (8fs) from wing forward, Niall Tierney helped the Donore men to a 1-17 to 0-13 victory over Clane.

Conor Egan, Aaron Carney and Ross Doyle are potent forwards for Wolfe Tones but EOCC have a good mixture of youth and experience and will look to Niall Tierney, JP Crotty, Liam Power and Sean O’Neill to see them to victory.

UPMC Junior Hurling Championship Final Eire Óg Corra Choill V Wolfe Tones, Sunday 11 September, St Conleth’s Park, 12 noon   Referee: Jason Corcoran 

Eire Óg Corra Choill Hurling Panel 2022 

Anthony Byrne

Barry Connolly

Brian Fitzpatrick

Brian McHugh

Ciaran Carty

Colin Power

Collie Gleeson

Conor Murphy

Darragh O’Shaughnessy

Eoin Houlihan

Eoin O Brien

Eoin Wilson

Jeffrey Dunney

Joe Dempsey

JP Crotty

Liam Power

Mark Kelly

Michael O’Brien

Mickey McGovern

Niall Tierney

Ollie O Neill

Paddy Doherty

Padraig Cribbin

Philip Tierney

Ronan Quine

Rory Kenny

Sean Merrigan

Sean O Neill

Tim Hennessy

Management Team

Barry O’Donnell, Keith Monahan, Bryan Reilly, Paddy Nolan, Louise Carroll

Wolfe Tones Junior Hurling Panel 2022 

Aaron Carney

Aidan O’Flaherty

Barry Loughyan

Brian Keating

Cian O’Doherty

Ciaran O’Gorman

Conor Egan

Dan Wynne

David Cronin

David Kelly

Eoin McConnon

Fionn Doyle

Harry Younge

Jack Couch

Jack Heading

Jamie Costello

Keith Green

Kevin Foley

Kevin Maher

Mark Doyle

Michael O’Mahoney

Morgan Cocoman

Niall Gorey

Rian O’Gorman

Ross Doyle

Ryan Locke

Sean Claffey

Shane Quinn

Simon Hughes

Stephen Moran

Management Team:

Chris Byrne, Pat Kinsella, Alan Moran, Eamonn Kelly, Martin Egan, Vincent McIntyre


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

This Week’s Kildare Nationalist Sport

Similar Articles

This Week’s Kildare Nationalist Sport