Thursday, December 01, 2022

KILDARE’S footballers and hurlers will begin their preseason competitions against Wexford and Carlow, respectively, in the first week of January 2023.

Glenn Ryan’s senior footballers open their O’Byrne Cup account make the trip to the South East to take on Wexford under new manager, John Hegarty, the former Shelmaliers manager and Wexford footballer on Wednesday 4 January.

 

St Conleth’s Park will host O’Byrne and Keogh Cup matches in January 2023 Photo: INPHO/Evan Treacy

On Saturday 7 January Kildare will entertain Mickey Harte’s Louth who they defeated in the quarter final of the Leinster SFC last May. The final Group game see the Lilywhites travel to Westmeath on Wednesday 11 January. The Lake County are now managed by their former star, Dessie Dolan.

In hurling David Herity’s charges will host old foes, Carlow, in Hawkfield in Round 1 of the Keogh Cup on Thursday 5 January before being idle on the following Saturday.  A match against 2020 Christy Ring Cup finalists, Down in Newbridge on Sunday 22 January is sandwiched between away trips to Wicklow on Sunday 15 January and Meath on Saturday 28 January.

O’BYRNE CUP SF 2023

Wednesday, 4 January: Wexford v Kildare Wexford Venue at 8pm

Saturday, 7 January: Kildare V Louth, St Conleth’s Park at 2pm

Wednesday, 11 January: Westmeath v Kildare Westmeath Venue at 8pm

Semi-Final – Sunday, 15 January

Final – Friday, 20 January

KEOGH CUP SF 2023

Thursday 5 January: Kildare V Carlow, Hawkfield at 8pm

Sunday 8 January: Kildare Bye

Sunday 15 January: Wicklow V Kildare, Wicklow Venue at 2pm

Sunday 22 January: Kildare V Down, St Conleth’s Park at 2pm

Saturday 28 January: Meath V Kildare, Meath Venue at 1pm

Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Spirited Kildare Just Pipped By Dubs

Similar Articles

Spirited Kildare Just Pipped By Dubs

New Kildare Jersey Launched