Friday, January 20, 2023

Electric Ireland HE GAA Sigerson Cup



By Richard Commins

MAYNOOTH University’s Sigerson Cup campaign came to a premature end on the 4G pitch at Abbotstown on Thursday night as they suffered a second round defeat to MTU Cork after a thrilling battle.

Kildare’s Darragh Kirwan scored 0-6 for Maynooth University in the Sigerson Cup loss to MTU Cork on Thursday night Photo: Sean Brilly

The Munster side overcame a poor start and the loss of centre-back Paul Ring to a second yellow card in the 44th minute to power home with a strong finish against the Division 1 League winners, for whom nine Kildare players made an appearance.

Corner forward Ryan O’Donovan was the star turn for the winners with an outstanding display of point-scoring, weighing in with ten points, five from play, in an end-to-end encounter.

The Kildare university had a dream start with local lad Fionn Ó Giolláin finding the net after only two minutes and points from star forward Darragh Kirwan, who finished with six, and Sligo’s Donal Conlon saw them 1-2 to no score ahead before an O’Donovan free settled MTU Cork.

In the 24th minute midfielder Liam Smith’s improvised flick to the net brought MTU back into it and by half-time they trailed by just a point, 1-6 to 1-7. Shortly after the interval they pierced the Maynooth defence again with Ring palming home at the far post.

Maynooth recovered immediately, though, with Conlon taking a high ball from the excellent Dermot Hanafin and burying it to the net and they were still leading by a point when Ring was sent-off. Disappointingly, Maynooth didn’t push on though and with O’Donovan scoring some fine points they were outscored by 1-4 to no score in the last ten minutes of playing time, Dylan O’Connor weighing in with their third goal deep in injury time.

MTU CORK: Kieran Twomey; Sean Andrews, Sean Meehan, Tommy Walsh; Rory Maguire, Paul Ring 1-0, Enda O’Connor 0-1; Liam Smith 1-1, Danny Linehan; Aaron O’Shea 0-1, Jack Cahalane, Dylan O’Connor; Ryan O’Donovan 0-10 (4fs, 1’45), Eanna O’Hanlon, Alan Walsh 0-1. Subs: Sean Cleary for O’Shea 45, Damien Cronin for T Walsh 50.

MAYNOOTH UNIVERSITY: Cian Burke (Clane, Kildare); Ciaran McCarrick (Dunshaughlin, Meath), Colin Walsh (Oran, Roscommon), Aaron Brazil (Shannonbridge, Offaly); Kieran Dwyer (Sarsfields, Kildare), Tom Moran (Dunlavin, Wicklow), Paddy McDermott (Naas, Kildare); Darragh Lyons (St James, Wexford), Dermot Hanafin (Naas, Kildare) 0-2; Dylan Kavanagh (Rhodes, Offaly), Darragh Walsh (Oran, Roscommon), Fionn Ó Giolláin (Maynooth, Kildare) 1-0; Darragh Kirwan (Naas, Kildare) 0-6 (3fs), Shane O’Sullivan (Clane, Kildare) 0-2 (2fs), Donal Conlon (Geevagh, Sligo) 1-1.

Subs: Ryan Burke (Caragh, Kildare) for Dwyer 18, Ruairi Kinsella (Dunshaughlin, Meath) for D Walsh 47, Luke Killian (Sallins, Kildare) for O Giolláin 47.


REFEREE- Conor Dourneen (Cavan)


Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Spirited Kildare Just Pipped By Dubs

Similar Articles

Spirited Kildare Just Pipped By Dubs

New Kildare Jersey Launched