Saturday, January 21, 2023

By Pat Costello

WHILE Kildare LGFA have yet to officially announce a team to face Down in the opening round of the LIDL League Division 3 at St Conleth’s Park on Sunday, the team below appears on the official LGFA website for that game. (Throw in 2pm)

Roisin Byrne returns to the Kildare attack for Sunday’s opening LIDL Division 3 game V Down in St Conleth’s Park Photo: Sean Brilly

Diane O’Hora and her Management Team have given youth it’s fling with the inclusion of the likes of goalkeeper, Anna Dunlea (Raheens), Lauren Burke (Naas) and Holly Tyrell (Rathcoffey) in the starting 15 while the likes of Amy Larn (Castlemitchell), Ciara Price (Sarsfields), Hannah Davis (Maynooth) and Jessica Harney (Eadestown) have been included in the substitute list.

There’s a welcome return for long term injury victims, Trina Duggan (Suncroft), at centre half back and former TG4 Award winner, Roisin Byrne (Sarsfields) at centre half forward. Vice captain, Laoise Lenehan (Kill) is at full back, and team captain, Grace Clifford (Eadestown) is partnered at midfield by Cappagh’s Aoife Rattigan.

Neasa Dooley (Athy), Hazel McLoughlin (Eadestown) and Ellen Dowling (Suncroft) will carry the experience and the fire power up front as Kildare look to get the O’Hora reign and their League campaign off to a winning start.

Kildare LGFA V Down, LIDL League Division 3, Sunday 22 January, St Conleth’s Park, Throw in 2pm Referee; Ciaran Groome (Offaly)

1 Anna Dunlea – Raheens

2 Lauren Burke – Naas

3 Laoise Lenehan – Kill

4 Claire Sullivan – Carbury

5 Ruth Sergeant – Eadestown

6 Trina Duggan – Suncroft)

7 Sarah Munnelly – Confey

8 Grace Clifford  (Capt) – Eadestown

9 Aoife Rattigan – Cappagh

10 Lara Curran -Milltown

11 Roisin Byrne – Sarsfields

12 Hazel McLoughlin – Eadestown

13 Ellen Dowling – Suncroft

14 Neasa Dooley – Athy

15 Holly Tyrell – Rathcoffey


16 Niamh Barnes – Celbridge

17 Amy Larn – Castlemitchell

18 Ciara Price – Sarsfields

19 Elaine Keogh – Sarsfields

20 Fiona Troute – Athy

21 Grainne Kenneally – Eadestown

22 Hanah Davis – Maynooth

23 Jessica Harney – Eadestown

24 Jayne Peacock – Kilcullen

25 Lara Gilbert – Kildangan Nurney

26 Mia Doherty – Leixlip

27 Molly O’Loughlin – Kilcullen

28 Roisin Forde – Maynooth

29 Shauna Kendrick – Sarsfields

30 Mary Hulgraine

Management Team

Manager: Diane O’Hora

Maor Foirne: Brian Noonan

Physio: Meadhbh O’Sullivan

FLO: Barbara Delaney

Mentor: Noelle Earley

Mentor: Con Brennan




Contact Newsdesk: 045 432147

More Kildare Sport

Spirited Kildare Just Pipped By Dubs

Similar Articles